Egyptian Art Dynasties and Time Periods Byzantine

Dynasties and Time Periods in Ancient Egypt Art



Predynastic Period (5550–3100 BCE)

Early Dynastic Period, 1st–2nd Dynasty (3050–2687 BCE)

Old Kingdom Dynasty, 3rd–6th Dynasty (2687–2191 BCE)

First Intermediate Period, 7th–11th Dynasty (2191–2061 BCE)

Middle Kingdom, late 11th–14th Dynasty (2061–1665 BCE)

Second Intermediate Period, 15th–17th Dynasty (1665–1569 BCE)

New Kingdom, 18th–20th Dynasty (1569–1081 BCE)

Third Intermediate Period, 21st–23rd Dynasty (1081–711 BCE)

Late Period, 24th–31st Dynasty (711-333 BCE)

Ptolemaic Period (332–31 BCE)

Roman Period (31 BCE–337 CE)

Byzantine Period (337–642 CE)

Arab Conquest (642 CE)


Byzantine Period (337–642 CE)
In 330 CE, Constantine, the first Christian ruler of Rome, moved the Roman capital to the city of Byzantium. The rise of Christianity overpowered the religious culture of ancient Egypt and the customs of Greek and Roman culture ruled. In 527 CE the Byzantine ruler Justinian I banned worship of pagan deities throughout the empire.

—Amber Myers Wells, (2006)