Tuesday, February 14

Talks  |  RSVP  

Hear from curators Rita Gonzalez and José Luis Blondet about Afro-Atlantic Histories, which charts the transatlantic slave trade and its legacies in the Africa...

Tue Feb 14 | 5 pm PT
Online

Thursday, February 16

Talks  |  RSVP  

Join historian Hasan Kwame Jeffries to learn how to teach the history of slavery and freedom, in America and beyond, accurately and effectively...

Thu Feb 16 | 5 pm PT
Online

Tuesday, February 21

Talks  |  RSVP  

Join teaching artist Carmina Gonzalez for a close look at artist Faith Ringgold’s Who’s Afraid of Aunt Jemima (1983), then create your own quilt squares to tell a story that has importance to you. For grades K–12. ...

Tue Feb 21 | 5 pm PT

Thursday, February 23

Drop-in Workshops  |  RSVP  

Join musician and ethnomusicologist Dr....

Thu Feb 23 | 5 pm PT
Online

Wednesday, March 15

Talks  |  RSVP  

Drawing on a number of teaching tools and resources, Dr. Luis-Genaro Garcia will show participants how they can draw on their students’ familial/home knowledge (Funds of Knowledge) in order to connect art and Common Core standards to their own subject-specific curriculums...

Wed Mar 15 | 5 pm PT