Where the Truth Lies: The Art of Qiu Ying

Exhibition Soundtrack

Mixing ancient Chinese instrumentation—qin, guzheng, and pipa—with modern synthesizers, drum machines, and field recordings, the soundscape complements this presentation about authenticity and illusion.

Few artists in Chinese history have proven as enigmatic as the great Ming dynasty painter Qiu Ying (c. 1494–c. 1552), whose life and art reveal a series of paradoxes. Though one of the most famous artists of the Ming period, almost nothing is known about his life. He is said to have been illiterate, yet surviving evidence demonstrates elegant writing. He is said to have had few followers, yet he was the most copied painter in Chinese history. Where the Truth Lies grapples with such issues as artists who cross social boundaries, literacy, and the importance of connoisseurship in determining quality and authenticity.

Headphones Icon

When listening inside the exhibition, please be considerate of others and use headphones.

1. Wu Fei - Cloud Of Birds

2. Sinjin Hawke - Shimmer

3. Guzz - 走不出的梦境

4. Howie Lee - Rejuvenation

5. Hong Ting - The Wind Sways the Green Bamboos

6. Lily Yuan - There & Six

7. Zhou Yu - Horse Race

8. Wu Man with Kronos Quartet - The Round Sun and Cresent Moon In the Sky

9. Onra - Autumn Moon Shining Over the Calm Lake

10. Joy Ginger - 练气功

11. Iona Fortune - Lu 履

12. Xiang Sihua - High Moon

13. David Mingyue Liang & Paul Horn - Moon Dance

14. RUI HO - Theia Impact

15. Gold Panda - Same Dream China

16. mobilegirl - Forest Coloss

17. The Shanghai Restoration Project - Beeswax Chamber

18. Wang Ying - Song of Birds in a Desolate Mountain

19. Yin Weihe - Clouds

The exhibition soundtrack for Where the Truth Lies: The Art of Qiu Ying is organized by LACMA and Mark “Frosty” McNeill of dublab.com, a non-profit radio station exploring wide-spectrum music from around the world.